Homepage of Boris Haase




Euclidean Geometry • Equitable Distributing • Linear Programming • Set Theory • Nonstandard Analysis • Advice • Topology • Number Theory • Computation of Time  (Previous | Next)



Computation of Time

Computation of Time

We measure time so far in years, months, weeks, days, hours, minutes, and seconds. Seconds can be divided into respectively thousandths, step by step more finely down to the measuring border. But is our computation of time practical?

The following three questions are to clarify the problems:

1. How many days are between 25.01.2004 and 11.11.2004?
2. Which weekday is the 11.11.2004?
3. How many seconds are between 09:12: 06 o'clock and 11.11.11 o'clock?

The answer to question 1 has to consider the different length of the months and leap years.

The answer to question 2 in addition has to include the seven day rhythm of the week and to assume a date with well-known weekday.

The answer to question 3 requires the conversion of hours and minutes in 3600 or rather 60 seconds.

Hence, I suggest the following computation of time:

1. The octal system is used throughout.
2. Time is specified: [[+/-] year,][day].[fraction of the day][additive].
3. An Earthday is inserted between Sunday and Monday within the week.
4. The months have regularly four eight-day weeks.
5. The last twelfth month has deviating 13 days (in the leap year 14).
6. Day 0 is New Year (1.1. so far, Sunday), day 1 is working day (Earthday).
7. The year will be introduced with year 0.
8. Time zones are omitted and Greenwich Mean Time is used world-wide.

Explanations:

To 1. (The octal system is used throughout.):

We mostly use the decimal system (radix 10, figures from 0 to 9). The radix indicates the number of different figures of a number system. Numbers can be equivalently represented in other number systems (only with another "appearance").

Numbers that are larger than indicated by the highest figure transfer a carry of one to the next left place: After the 9 follows the 10, after the 99 the 100, after the 999 the 1000 etc.

Humans can on the average recognise maximally seven things at one time, without having to count them. The octal system with the radix 8 possesses the figures from 0 to 7 and accommodates here thus the nature of humans.

The octal system can be converted in a simple manner into other number systems that are a power of the radix two. Apart from the binary or dual system (radix 2, figures 0 and 1), there are among these in particular the tetral system (radix 4, figures from 0 to 3) and the hexadecimal system (radix 16, figures from 0 to 9 and from A to F).

Most computers are based on the binary system. The figures 0 and 1 indicate whether current flows or not. Numbers in the decimal system have to be converted for these computers into the binary system so that it can be counted fast.

The longer the numbers are, the more time-consuming the conversion is. For the output in the decimal system, a renewed transformation is necessary. By the conversion between dual and decimal system, frequently transformation-caused truncations arise behind the decimal point.

Here some examples (the subscript number indicates the radix for the distinction of the number systems):

200410 = 7D416 = 37248 = 1331104 = 111110101002.

If 111110101002 starting from right is divided by | into two-blocks in the form 1|11|11|01|01|002, then the representation for 1331104 can be obtained by the following replacement pattern:
00 ≙ 0, 01 ≙ 1, 10 ≙ 2, and 11 ≙ 3. A first block left with a digit remains unchanged.

For the production of 37248 from 111110101002, three-blocks from right have to be transformed to: 11|111|010|1002. The replacement pattern reads:
000 ≙ 0, 001 ≙ 1, 010 ≙ 2, 011 ≙ 3, 100 ≙ 4, 101 ≙ 5, 110 ≙ 6, and 111 ≙ 7. A first block with less than three digits has to be completed before by zeros from the left.

For the production of 7D416 from 111110101002, blocks of four from right have to be transformed to: 111|1101|01002. The replacement pattern reads:
0000 ≙ 0, 0001 ≙ 1, 0010 ≙ 2, 0011 ≙ 3, 0100 ≙ 4, 0101 ≙ 5, 0110 ≙ 6, 0111 ≙ 7, 1000 ≙ 8, 1001 ≙ 9, 1010 ≙ A, 1011 ≙ B, 1100 ≙ C, 1101 ≙ D, 1110 ≙ E, and 1111 ≙ F. A first block with less than four numbers has to be completed before by zeros from the left.

Generally, if you have a radix of 2n, there have to be formed blocks of n digits in the representation of the dual system from the right and the first block to the left has to be filled up with zeros up to n digits, beginning from the left. The transformation functions also in reverse from the 2n-system into the binary system. Furthermore, there are still different algorithms for the transformation.

For the production of 7D416 from 200410, 200410 is continual divided by 1610:
200410/1610 = 12510 remainder of 410;
12510/1610 = 710 remainder of 1310;
1310/1610 = 010 remainder of 710.

The two digit remainders are converted into the hexadecimal system and gone through from top to bottom. The desired result 7D416 is obtained if they are thereby lined up from from left to right: 710 = 716, 1310 = D16 and 410 = 416.

Generally, the number to be converted has to be continually divided by the radix of the target system, and the multi-digit remainders have to be converted into the notation of the target system. The number searched for results from the lining up of the remainders from left to right if in the division calculation the remainders are gone through from bottom to top.

Naturally, here different transformation algorithms exist - also in the reverse direction. Since the continual division is computationally more expensive than the figure replacement in figure blocks, the mentioned loss of time emerges. Positions behind the floating point are similarly converted.

To 2. (Time is specified: [[+/-] year,][day].[fraction of the day][additive].):

The order results from the sorting capability of the date. + can be omitted; - refers only to the year. If the fraction of the day is omitted, the (normal) date results. The year can be also omitted if the understanding permits that.

The fraction is indicated as sequence of octal figures. For optical reasons, the numbers can be filled up with zeros on the right to an even number (e.g. four or six-digit). Additive may be for example: Christian, Jewish or Islamic or an abbreviation. The standard is without additive.

The seasons spring, summer, autumn and winter and the holidays return regularly. These regularities shall survive with respect to the year, even if there are irregularities in the details.

Hours are not used anymore for reasons of confusion. The day is divided roughly into eight parts (called octs). Furthermore, an oct is divided into eight parts (called lepts). The minute is redefined as the 64th part of a lept. The second is redefined as the 262144th part of a day (64 * 64 * 64 = 262144).

For this reason, time can be indicated approximately three times more exactly with six figures in the octal system as with six figures in the decimal system (262144/[24 * 60 * 60] ~ 3.034). Four lepts, or a half oct, correspond to 1.5 hours and two lepts correspond to a school hour of 45 (old) minutes. The break of five minutes becomes the break of a quarter-lept.

Because 6410 = 1008, seconds pass naturally into minutes, minutes likewise into lepts and lepts into days. Days cannot pass naturally into years because a normal year has 36510 = 5558 days. The leap year with 36610 = 5568 days does not improve anything here.

The new analogue clock dial is much more symmetrically designed than the old one and corresponds better to the compass rose and the sundial. x and + are superposed as principal axes. The 0 is placed at the bottom. The digits follow clockwise from 1 to 7. The division into 64 lines (lepts, new minutes and seconds) optically hardly differs from the conventional one into 60 lines (old minutes and seconds).

To 3. (An Earthday is inserted between Sunday and Monday within the week.):

The weekdays are named after planets in several languages. The Earth was excluded so far. It is appreciated by the Earthday. Finally, it is less crucial, which name a language community uses.

A week with eight days represents at first sight a greater human burden. Wednesday could, however, bring a relief as middle of the week if the afternoon is kept as free as possible, both on the job and at school.

We assume an eight-hour working day and two free weekend days. If we consider 56 days at those 320 hours would have been worked in the seven-day week, 336 hours in the eight-day week, then it results for Wednesday that 16/7 hours per eight-day week would have to be less worked.

If we would begin our work in GMT at 7 o'clock, then we worked on an eight-hour working day till 15:30 o'clock if we assume a half hour of lunch time. On a Wednesday would have to be worked at same beginning time only till approx. 12:43 o'clock.

We are free to work longer at flexible work time the week over in order to be able earlier to terminate our work on Friday for example. Modified solutions are to be used respectively at other work time models and work times.

To 4. (The months have regularly four eight-day weeks.):

Having 32 days, the months can be halved very well by steps of two. The month can be determined in the octal system from the three digits representing the day - where necessary zeros may be completed on the left. 0 - 3 in the second place characterise odd, 4 - 7 even months.

Month is, however, only a transient term and finally derived from the Moon, which has subordinated importance in the new computation of time. Instead the terms half, third, quarter, sixth and twelfth (of the year) are used. The date is to be indicated, if possible, accurately to week or day.

To 5. (The last twelfth month has deviating 13 days (in the leap year 14).):
The position of the leap day in the middle of the year was so far little plausible. At the end of the year, the computation of time can be corrected expediently as missing time units are inserted - in particular in seconds. To New Year, all clocks are then reset to [year],0.000000. Here fields will profit where special accuracy is needed.

The last five (in the leap year six) days can receive own weekday names. The weekday names will become less important, however, in favour of the numbers connected with them.

To 6. (Day 0 is New Year (1.1. so far, Sunday), day 1 is working day (Earthday).):

It has practical reasons that each month begins with Sunday. The beginning of the week with Sunday has historical reasons and is also a concession to the moon calendar. In addition, the 0 resembles the symbol for sun (sun calendar).

Since the Gregorian calendar at present is the most common calendar, New Year is the 1.1. according to it also in the octal calendar. The celebrations around the turn of the year can be committed in well-tried form.

To 7. (The year will be introduced with year 0.):

This happens for practical reasons: The year can be noted briefly (without additive). A clear cut is made concerning the old computation of time. This point is among all of them the least mandatory.

To 8. (Time zones are omitted and world-wide Greenwich Mean Time is used.):

The question, what time in another time zone is valid, is unnecessary. A world-wide communication is facilitated, since all clocks on Earth show the same time if they are synchronised. Greenwich historically has the zero meridian.


Now, instead of the three initial questions, the substantially more difficult one is asked:

How many days are between 25.01.2004 09:12:06 o'clock and 11.11.2004 11:11:11 o'clock?

First, the question is reformulated into the octal system (with truncation at the seconds, chr. stands for Christian):

How many days are between 3724,30.304233 chr. and 3724,473.356511 chr.?

The answer is given by a simple subtraction: 443.052256. The 25.01.2004 would be a Sunday, the 11.11.2004 would be a Tuesday in the new computation of time. There are exactly 443052256 (new) seconds between the two numerical data, rounded 4430523 (new) minutes, 44305 lepts, 4431 octs, 443 days and 44 weeks.


Discussion of important aspects:

The biggest challenge might be - independently from the computation of time - the conversion into the octal system. It is connected with high costs, great need for discussion and preparation for many years. The policy will have to work hard to convince the majority by extensive advertising efforts.

One additional day per week is for all religious communities equal (-ly fair). In relation to other week lengths, the one extended to eight days is certainly most moderate. The representation of the year is not religiously founded. By the additive, every religious community can specify its computation of the year.

I do not doubt that humans can learn. Also handling computers was so far successfully mastered. The gap between humans and computer is strongly reduced by introducing the octal system.

Monthly sums of amount can be easily split to weekly and daily ones. Here, the shortened twelfth month can be better calculated. Equal month lengths, under normal conditions, are fairer regarding the money than the irregular ones.

Everyone not being born at a leap day celebrates the own birthday at the same weekday in a year. This is not a crucial disadvantage. The emotional rhythm of 28 days within the biorhythm is also better mixed.

The SI-unit second would have to be redefined. Here, atomic clocks should have no problem. Introducing the octal system requires to replace terms such as kilo and million respectively to shift the meaning of word beginnings such as mega, micro and nano.

Depending upon the old time zone, the day turns out to be differently related to time. Humans can begin the day, eat, work or learn, meet and sleep as they usually do. Only the time indicated differs.

We need to get used to that including the date line. It remains, however, at its old place. World-wide communication is to be given priority because of its increasing importance. The arising costs are exceeded over years by the saved ones. Calculation and communication become clearly easier.

By introducing the octal system, not everything is done. It should be connected meaningfully with a world-wide source language (as native language), also based on the octal system. Such an efficient planned language is presented below linguistics. Everyone shall be able to talk to everyone on the same level.

Synoptic octal calendar

January, February, March, April, May, June, July, August, September, October, November, December (Leap day)

Weekday1st Week2nd Week3rd Week4th Week
Sunday0th Day10th Day20th Day30th Day
Earthday1st Day11th Day21st Day31st Day
Monday2nd Day12th Day22nd Day32nd Day
Tuesday3rd Day13th Day23rd Day33rd Day
Wednesday4th Day14th Day24th Day34th Day
Thursday5th Day15th Day25th Day35th Day
Friday6th Day16th Day26th Day36th Day
Saturday7th Day17th Day27th Day37th Day

Code of computation of time

Further thoughts: Calculating lengths in the octal system

We measure lengths up to now on the basis of the SI-unit metre. In the octal system, there are to form appropriate multiples of 8. What is the practical implementation?

Instead of conventional kilometres of 100010 m length, octal kilometres of 51210 = 10008 m length are used. Since time is measured instead of conventional seconds in octal seconds of day length/10000008 ~ 0.3310 s, it follows that almost three octal seconds are counted per conventional second.

On the tachometer, speed is measured in octal kilometre/lept with lepts the 1008th = 6410th part of the day. 100 kilometres per hour correspond to approximately 7324210 ~ 111.28 lepts kilometres (octal). The difference in the numerical value may hardly be noticed and is therefore justified. 1008 lepts kilometres (octal) correspond vice versa to approximately 87.3810 kilometres per hour.

The speed of light is 29979245810 m/s = 98808549.3910 m/octal second ~ 5707313458 m/octal second. If the speed of light is specified by about 300000 km/s, we can also specify it by 570000 octal kilometres/octal second.

The 2510-metre lanes are shortened to 2410 = 308 m, 5010-metre swimming to 4810 = 608 m. Instead of 5010 m, 10010 m, 20010 m, 40010 m, 80010 m and 150010 m would be to swim: 4810 = 608 m, 9610 = 1408 m, 19210 = 3008 m, 38410 = 6008 m, 76810 = 14008 m and 153610 = 30008 m. These deviations are justifiable. The long hauls should be multiples of 10008.

In athletics, there are also the following distances: 300010 m, 500010 m, 1000010 m, 2000010 m and 5000010 m, which could be replaced by the following distances: 307210 = 60008 m, 409610 = 100008 m, 819210 = 200008 m, 2048010 = 500008 m and 4915210 = 1400008 m. The marathon will remain unchanged (42.195 km = 122.3238 octal kilometres).

In the building industry, measures are valid that are usually exactly determined to the centimetre. Since we can accurately calculate in the octal system to 1/6410 and 1/51210 m, there should be no problems. The same is true for furniture, although it certainly can be accepted to shift measures that are multiples of 0.1 m to those that are multiples of 0.125 m.

© 2001-2008 by Boris Haase


Valid XHTML 1.0 • privacy policy • disclaimer • pdf-version • bibliography • subjects • definitions • statistics • php-code • rss-feed • mwiki • top

Homepage von Boris Haase




Euklidische Geometrie • Gerechtes Verteilen • Lineare Optimierung • Mengenlehre • Nichtstandardanalysis • Ratschläge • Topologie • Zahlentheorie • Zeitrechnung  (Vorherige | Nächste)



Zeitrechnung

Zeitrechnung

Wir messen Zeit bisher in Jahren, Monaten, Wochen, Tagen, Stunden, Minuten und Sekunden. In jeweils Tausendsteln können Sekunden immer feiner bis zur Messgrenze unterteilt werden. Aber ist unsere Zeitrechnung praktisch?

Folgende drei Fragen sollen die Probleme verdeutlichen:

1. Wie viele Tage liegen zwischen dem 25.01.2004 und dem 11.11.2004?
2. Auf welchen Wochentag fällt der 11.11.2004?
3. Wie viele Sekunden liegen zwischen 09:12:06 Uhr und 11.11.11 Uhr?

Die Antwort auf Frage 1 hat die unterschiedliche Länge der Monate und Schaltjahre zu berücksichtigen.

Die Antwort auf Frage 2 hat darüber hinaus den Sieben-Tage-Rhythmus der Woche einzubeziehen und von einem Datum mit bekanntem Wochentag auszugehen.

Die Antwort auf Frage 3 erfordert die Umrechnung von Stunden und Minuten in 3600 bzw. 60 Sekunden.

Ich schlage daher folgende Zeitrechnung vor:

1. Es wird durchweg das Achtersystem verwendet.
2. Die Zeit wird angegeben: [[+/-]Jahr,][Tag].[Bruchteil des Tages] [Zusatz].
3. In der Woche wird zwischen Sonntag und Montag ein Erdtag eingeschoben.
4. Die Monate haben regulär vier Acht-Tage-Wochen.
5. Der letzte zwölfte Monat hat abweichend 13 Tage (im Schaltjahr 14).
6. Tag 0 ist Neujahr (1.1. bisher, Sonntag), Tag 1 ist Arbeitstag (Erdtag).
7. Das Jahr der Einführung ist das Jahr 0.
8. Zeitzonen entfallen und es gilt weltweit Greenwich-Zeit.

Erläuterungen:

Zu 1. (Es wird durchweg das Achtersystem verwendet.):

Wir verwenden zumeist das Dezimal- oder Zehnersystem (Basis 10, Ziffern 0 bis 9). Die Basis gibt die Anzahl der verschiedenen Ziffern eines Zahlensystems an. Zahlen können in anderen Zahlensystemen gleichwertig (nur mit anderem "Aussehen") dargestellt werden.

Zahlen, die größer sind als die höchste Ziffer angibt, werden durch Übertrag auf die nächste linke Stelle gebildet: Auf die 9 folgt die 10, auf die 99 die 100, auf die 999 die 1000 usw.

Der Mensch kann durchschnittlich maximal sieben Dinge auf einmal erkennen, ohne sie zählen zu müssen. Das Oktal- oder Achtersystem mit der Basis 8 besitzt die Ziffern 0 bis 7 und kommt hier der Natur des Menschen also entgegen.

Das Achtersystem lässt sich auf einfache Weise in andere Zahlensysteme umrechnen, die eine Potenz der Basis zwei sind. Neben dem Dual- oder Zweiersystem (Basis 2, Ziffern 0 und 1) zählen hierzu insbesondere das Tetral- oder Vierersystem (Basis 4, Ziffern 0 bis 3) und das Hexadezimal- oder Sechzehnersystem (Basis 16 Ziffern 0 bis 9 und A bis F).

Die meisten Computer beruhen auf dem Zweiersystem. Die Ziffern 0 und 1 geben an, ob Strom fließt oder nicht. Zahlen im Zehnersystem müssen für diese Rechner in das Zweiersystem umgewandelt werden, damit schnell gerechnet werden kann.

Je länger die Zahlen sind, desto zeitaufwändiger ist die Umrechnung. Für die Ausgabe im Zehnersystem ist eine erneute Umwandlung erforderlich. Bei der Umrechnung zwischen Zweier- und Zehnersystem treten im Nachkommabereich häufig umwandlungsbedingte Rundungen auf.

Hier einige Beispiele (die tiefgestellte Zahl gibt zur Unterscheidung der Zahlensysteme die Basis an):

200410 = 7D416 = 37248 = 1331104 = 111110101002.

Wird 111110101002 von rechts ausgehend in Zweierblöcke durch | unterteilt in der Form 1|11|11|01|01|002, so kann durch folgende Entsprechungen die Darstellung für 1331104 gewonnen werden:
00 ≙ 0, 01 ≙ 1, 10 ≙ 2 und 11 ≙ 3. Ein erster Block links mit einer Ziffer bleibt unverändert.

Für die Gewinnung von 37248 aus 111110101002 sind Dreierblöcke von rechts zu bilden: 11|111|010|1002. Das Ersetzungsschema lautet:
000 ≙ 0, 001 ≙ 1, 010 ≙ 2, 011 ≙ 3, 100 ≙ 4, 101 ≙ 5, 110 ≙ 6 und 111 ≙ 7. Ein erster Block mit weniger als drei Ziffern ist vorher durch Nullen links aufzufüllen.

Für die Gewinnung von 7D416 aus 111110101002 sind Viererblöcke von rechts zu bilden: 111|1101|01002. Das Ersetzungsschema lautet:
0000 ≙ 0, 0001 ≙ 1, 0010 ≙ 2, 0011 ≙ 3, 0100 ≙ 4, 0101 ≙ 5, 0110 ≙ 6, 0111 ≙ 7, 1000 ≙ 8, 1001 ≙ 9, 1010 ≙ A, 1011 ≙ B, 1100 ≙ C, 1101 ≙ D, 1110 ≙ E und 1111 ≙ F. Ein erster Block mit weniger als vier Ziffern ist vorher durch Nullen links aufzufüllen.

Allgemein sind bei einer Basis 2n Blöcke mit n Ziffern der Darstellung im Zweiersystem von rechts zu bilden und der erste links stehende Block vorher mit Nullen auf n Ziffern von links aufzufüllen. Die Umwandlung funktioniert auch umgekehrt vom 2n-System in das Zweiersystem. Ferner gibt es noch andere Algorithmen der Umwandlung.

Für die Gewinnung von 7D416 aus 200410 wird 200410 fortwährend durch 1610 geteilt:
200410 / 1610 = 12510 Rest 410;
12510 / 1610 = 710 Rest 1310;
1310 / 1610 = 010 Rest 710.

Die zweistelligen Reste werden ins Sechzehnersystem umgewandelt und von unten nach oben durchgegangen. Das gewünschte Ergebnis 7D416 ergibt sich, wenn sie dabei von links nach rechts aneinandergereiht werden: 710 = 716, 1310 = D16 und 410 = 416.

Allgemein ist die umzuwandelnde Zahl durch die Basis des Zielsystems fortwährend zu teilen und die mehrstelligen Reste sind in die Schreibweise des Zielsystems umzuwandeln. Die gesuchte Zahl ergibt sich durch die Aneinanderreihung der Reste von links nach rechts, wenn in der Divisionsrechnung die Reste von unten nach oben durchgegangen werden.

Natürlich existieren hier andere Umwandlungsalgorithmen - auch in die andere Richtung. Da die fortwährende Division rechnerisch aufwändiger ist als die Ziffernersetzung in Ziffernblöcken, entsteht der angesprochene Zeitverlust. Nachkommastellen werden ähnlich umgewandelt.

Zu 2. (Die Zeit wird angegeben: [[+/-]Jahr,][Tag].[Bruchteil des Tages] [Zusatz].):

Die Reihenfolge ergibt sich aus der Sortierfähigkeit der Zeitangabe. Das + kann weggelassen werden; das - bezieht sich nur auf das Jahr. Wird der Bruchteil des Tages weggelassen, ergibt sich die Datumsangabe. Das Jahr kann ebenfalls weggelassen werden, wenn das Verständnis es zulässt.

Der Bruchteil wird als Folge von Oktalziffern angegeben. Aus optischen Gründen können die Ziffern rechts auf eine gerade Anzahl mit Nullen aufgefüllt werden (z. B. vier- oder sechsstellig). Zusatz kann beispielsweise sein: christlich, jüdisch oder islamisch oder eine Abkürzung. Der Standard ist ohne Zusatz.

Die Jahreszeiten Frühling, Sommer, Herbst und Winter und die Feiertage kehren regelmäßig wieder. Diese Regelmäßigkeiten sollen auf das Jahr gesehen erhalten bleiben, auch wenn es in den Details Unregelmäßigkeiten gibt.

Stunden werden aus Verwechslungsgründen nicht mehr verwendet. Der Tag wird grob in acht Teile (Okten genannt) geteilt. Eine Okte wird ferner in acht Teile (Lepten genannt) geteilt. Die Minute wird neu definiert als der 64. Teil einer Lepte. Die Sekunde wird neu definiert als der 262144. Teil eines Tages (64 * 64 * 64 = 262144).

Damit kann mit sechs Ziffern im Achtersystem die Zeit ungefähr dreimal genauer angegeben werden als mit sechs Ziffern im Zehnersystem (262144 / [24 * 60 * 60] ~ 3,034). Vier Lepten oder eine halbe Okte entsprechen 1,5 Stunden und zwei Lepten entsprechen einer Schulstunde von 45 (alten) Minuten. Die Fünfminutenpause wird zur Viertelleptenpause.

Da 6410 = 1008 ist, gehen Sekunden auf natürliche Weise in Minuten über, Minuten ebenso in Lepten und Lepten in Tage. Tage können nicht auf natürliche Weise in Jahre übergehen, da ein normales Jahr 36510 = 5558 Tage hat. Das Schaltjahr mit 36610 = 5568 Tagen verbessert nichts hierbei.

Das neue analoge Uhrenzifferblatt ist viel symmetrischer aufgebaut als das alte und entspricht besser der Kompassrose und der Sonnenuhr. x und + sind als Hauptachsen überlagert. Unten steht die 0. Im Uhrzeigersinn folgen die Ziffern 1 bis 7. Die Teilung in 64 Striche (Lepten, neue Minuten und Sekunden) weicht optisch kaum von der bisherigen in 60 Striche (alte Minuten und Sekunden) ab.

Zu 3. (In der Woche wird zwischen Sonntag und Montag ein Erdtag eingeschoben.):

In mehreren Sprachen sind die Wochentage nach Planeten benannt. Die Erde ging als innerer Planet bisher leer aus. Sie wird mit dem Erdtag gewürdigt. Letztlich ist es aber weniger entscheidend, welche Bezeichnung eine Sprachgemeinschaft verwendet.

Eine Woche mit acht Tagen stellt auf den ersten Blick eine höhere menschliche Belastung dar. Der Mittwoch könnte als Mitte der Woche jedoch eine Entlastung bringen, wenn der Nachmittag sowohl bei der Arbeit als auch in der Schule möglichst frei gehalten wird.

Wir gehen von einem Acht-Stunden-Arbeitstag und zwei freien Wochenendtagen aus. Betrachten wir 56 Tage, von denen in der Sieben-Tage-Woche 320 Stunden, in der Acht-Tage-Woche 336 Stunden gearbeitet würde, so ergibt sich für den Mittwoch, dass bei gleicher Arbeitszeit 16/7 Stunden pro Acht-Tage-Woche weniger gearbeitet werden müsste.

Begännen wir unsere Arbeit in GMT um 7 Uhr, so würden wir bis 15:30 Uhr an einem Acht-Stunden-Arbeitstag arbeiten, wenn wir von einer halben Stunde Mittagspause ausgehen. An einem Mittwoch bräuchte bei gleicher Beginnzeit nur bis ca. 12:43 Uhr gearbeitet werden.

Es steht einem frei, bei gleitender Arbeitszeit die Woche über länger zu arbeiten, um beispielsweise am Freitag seine Arbeit früher beenden zu können. Bei anderen Arbeitszeitmodellen und Arbeitszeiten sind entsprechend modifizierte Lösungen anzuwenden.

Zu 4. (Die Monate haben regulär vier Acht-Tage-Wochen.):

Mit 32 Tagen können die Monate sehr gut in Zweierschritten halbiert werden. Aus der dreistelligen Tagesangabe lässt sich im Achtersystem der Monat ermitteln - gegebenenfalls sind links Nullen zu ergänzen. 0 - 3 an der zweiten Stelle kennzeichnet ungerade, 4 - 7 gerade Monate.

Monat ist allerdings nur ein Übergangsbegriff und schließlich von Mond abgeleitet ist, welcher in der neuen Zeitrechnung untergeordnete Bedeutung hat. Es werden stattdessen die Begriffe Hälfte, Drittel, Viertel, Sechstel und Zwölftel (des Jahres) verwendet. Das Datum soll möglichst auf Woche oder Tag genau angegeben werden.

Zu 5. (Der letzte zwölfte Monat hat abweichend 13 Tage (im Schaltjahr 14).):

Die Position des Schalttages mitten im Jahr war bisher wenig einleuchtend. Am Ende des Jahres kann die Zeitrechnung sinnvoll korrigiert werden, indem fehlende Zeiteinheiten eingefügt werden - insbesondere in Sekunden. Zu Neujahr werden dann alle Uhren auf [Jahr],0.000000 zurückgesetzt. Dies kommt auch Bereichen zugute, bei denen es auf besondere Genauigkeit ankommt.

Die letzten fünf (im Schaltjahr sechs) Tage können eigene Wochentagsnamen erhalten. Die Wochentagsnamen werden vermutlich aber in ihrer Bedeutung zugunsten der mit ihnen verbundenen Ziffern abnehmen.

Zu 6. (Tag 0 ist Neujahr (1.1. bisher, Sonntag), Tag 1 ist Arbeitstag (Erdtag).):

Den Sonntag auf den Monatsbeginn fallen zu lassen, hat praktische Gründe. Der Wochenbeginn mit Sonntag hat historische Gründe und ist auch ein Zugeständnis an den Mondkalender. Die 0 ähnelt außerdem dem Symbol für Sonne (Sonnenkalender).

Da der Gregorianische Kalender derzeit der am meisten verbreitete Kalender ist, fällt nach ihm Neujahr auch im Oktalkalender auf den 1.1. Die Feiern um die Jahreswende sollen in bewährter Form begangen werden können.

Zu 7. (Das Jahr der Einführung ist das Jahr 0.):

Dies geschieht aus praktischen Gründen: Das Jahr kann (ohne Zusatz) kurz notiert werden. Es wird ein deutlicher Schnitt zur alten Zeitrechnung gemacht. Von allen Punkten ist dieser der am wenigsten verbindliche.

Zu 8. (Zeitzonen entfallen und es gilt weltweit Greenwich-Zeit.):

Die Frage, welche Uhrzeit in einer anderen Zeitzone gilt, erübrigt sich. Eine weltweite Verständigung wird erleichtert, da alle Uhren auf der Erde dieselbe Zeit anzeigen, wenn sie synchronisiert werden. Greenwich ist durch den Nullmeridian historisch ausgezeichnet.


Es wird nun statt der drei Ausgangsfragen die wesentlich schwierigere gestellt:

Wie viele Tage liegen zwischen dem 25.01.2004 09:12:06 Uhr und dem 11.11.2004 11:11:11 Uhr?

Zunächst wird die Frage im Achtersystem umformuliert (mit Rundung bei den Sekunden, chr. steht für christlich):

Wie viele Tage liegen zwischen 3724,30.304233 chr. und 3724,473.356511 chr.?

Die Antwort liefert eine einfache Subtraktion: 443.052256. Der 25.01.2004 wäre in der neuen Zeitrechung ein Sonntag, der 11.11.2004 ein Dienstag. Zwischen den beiden Zeitangaben liegen genau 443052256 (neue) Sekunden, gerundet 4430523 (neue) Minuten, 44305 Lepten, 4431 Okten, 443 Tage und 44 Wochen.


Diskussion wichtiger Punkte:

Die größte Herausforderung dürfte - unabhängig von der Zeitrechnung - in der Umstellung auf das Achtersystem liegen. Sie ist mit hohen Kosten, großem Diskussionsbedarf und jahrelanger Vorbereitung verbunden. Die Politik wird unter umfangreichen Werbemaßnahmen eine harte Überzeugungsarbeit leisten müssen.

Ein Tag mehr pro Woche betrifft alle Religionsgemeinschaften gleich (gerecht). Gegenüber anderen Wochenlängen ist die Ergänzung um einen Tag sicher die maßvollste. Die Jahresangabe ist nicht religiös begründet. Durch den Zusatz kann jede Religionsgemeinschaft ihre Jahresrechnung kennzeichnen.

Ich zweifle nicht an der Lernfähigkeit des Menschen. Auch der Umgang mit Computern wurde bisher erfolgreich bewältigt. Die Kluft zwischen Mensch und Computer wird durch Einführung des Achtersystems stark verringert.

Auf den Monat bezogene Geldbeträge können auf Woche und Tag umgerechnet werden. Dies hilft bei der Umrechnung auf den verkürzten zwölften Monat. Die im Normalfall gleiche Monatslänge ist hinsichtlich des Geldes gerechter als die bisher unregelmäßige.

Jeder hat erkennbar jedes Jahr am gleichen Wochentag Geburtstag - von den an einem Schalttag Geborenen abgesehen. Dies ist kein entscheidender Nachteil. Der emotionale Rhythmus von 28 Tagen im Biorhythmus wird außerdem besser durchmischt.

Die SI-Einheit Sekunde müsste neu definiert werden. Atomuhren sollten hiermit kein Problem haben. Die Einführung des Achtersystems erfordert die Ersetzung von Begriffen wie Kilo und Million bzw. die Bedeutungsverschiebung von Wortanfängen wie Mega-, Mikro- und Nano-.

Je nach alter Zeitzone gestaltet sich der Tag bezogen auf die Uhrzeit anders. Wie gewohnt können die Menschen den Tag beginnen, essen, arbeiten oder lernen, sich treffen und schlafen. Lediglich die angezeigte Uhrzeit ist eine andere.

Dies ist gewöhnungsbedürftig, auch was die Datumsgrenze angeht. Sie bleibt aber an ihrer alten Stelle. Der weltweiten Kommunikation ist wegen ihrer zunehmenden Bedeutung Vorrang zu geben. Die entstehenden Kosten werden über die Jahre durch die gesparten übertroffen. Kalkulation und Kommunikation werden deutlich einfacher.

Mit der Einführung des Achtersystems ist es allein nicht getan. Sie sollte sinnvoll mit einer weltweiten Primärsprache (als Muttersprache) verbunden werden, die ebenfalls auf dem Achtersystem beruht. Eine solche leistungsfähige Plansprache findet sich unter Linguistik. Jeder Mensch soll mit jedem anderen auf gleichem Niveau sprechen können.

Synoptischer Oktalkalender

Januar, Februar, März, April, Mai, Juni, Juli, August, September, Oktober, November, Dezember (Schalttag)

Wochentag1. Woche2. Woche3. Woche4. Woche
Sonntag0. Tag10. Tag20. Tag30. Tag
Erdtag1. Tag11. Tag21. Tag31. Tag
Montag2. Tag12. Tag22. Tag32. Tag
Dienstag3. Tag13. Tag23. Tag33. Tag
Mittwoch4. Tag14. Tag24. Tag34. Tag
Donnerstag5. Tag15. Tag25. Tag35. Tag
Freitag6. Tag16. Tag26. Tag36. Tag
Samstag7. Tag17. Tag27. Tag37. Tag

Programmtext der Zeitrechnung

Ausblick: Längenrechnung im Achtersystem

Wir messen Längen bisher auf Grundlage der SI-Einheit Meter. Im Achtersystem sind geeignete Vielfache von 8 zu bilden. Wie ist die Umsetzung praktisch zu gestalten?

Statt herkömmlichen Kilometern von 100010 m Länge werden Oktalkilometer von 51210 = 10008 m Länge verwendet. Da die Zeit statt in herkömmlichen Sekunden in Oktalsekunden von Tageslänge/10000008 ~ 0,3310 s gemessen wird, folgt, dass pro herkömmlicher Sekunde ungefähr drei Oktalsekunden gezählt werden.

Auf dem Tachometer wird die Geschwindigkeit in Oktalkilometer/Lepte gemessen, wobei Lepten der 1008. = 6410. Teil des Tages sind. 100 Stundenkilometer entsprechen dann ungefähr 73,24210 ~ 111,28 Lepten(oktal)kilometer. Der Unterschied im Zahlenwert ist also kaum abweichend und daher vertretbar. 1008 Lepten(oktal)kilometer entsprechen umgekehrt ungefähr 87,3810 Stundenkilometer.

Die Lichtgeschwindigkeit beträgt 29979245810 m/s = 98808549,3910 m/Oktalsekunde ~ 5707313458 m/Oktalsekunde. Wenn wir die Lichtgeschwindigkeit mit ca. 300000 km/s angeben, können wir sie auch mit 570000 Oktalkilometer/Oktalsekunde angeben.

Die 2510-m-Schwimmbahnen werden auf 2410 = 308 m verkürzt, die 5010-m-Schwimmbahnen auf 4810 = 608 m. Statt 5010 m, 10010 m, 20010 m, 40010 m, 80010 m und 150010 m wären dann 4810 = 608 m, 9610 = 1408 m, 19210 = 3008 m, 38410 = 6008 m, 76810 = 14008 m und 153610 = 30008 m zu schwimmen. Auch diese Abweichungen sind vertretbar. Die Langstrecken sollten Vielfache von 10008 sein.

In der Leichtathletik gibt es darüber hinaus folgende Strecken: 300010 m, 500010 m, 1000010 m, 2000010 m und 5000010 m, die durch folgende Strecken abgelöst werden könnten: 307210 = 60008 m, 409610 = 100008 m, 819210 = 200008 m, 2048010 = 500008 m und 4915210 = 1400008 m. Der Marathon bleibt unverändert (42,195 km = 122,3238 Oktalkilometer).

Im Bau gelten meist auf den Zentimeter genau bestimmte Maße. Da im Achtersystem auf 1/6410 bzw. 1/51210 m genau gerechnet werden kann, sollten hier keine Probleme bestehen. Ähnliches gilt für Möbel, obwohl hier sicherlich der Wechsel von Maßen als Vielfaches von 0,1 m auf Vielfache von 0,125 m akzeptiert werden kann.

© 2001-2008 by Boris Haase


Valid XHTML 1.0 • Haftungsausschluss • mail@boris-haase.de • PDF-Version • Literatur • Schlagwörter • Definitionen • Statistik • PHP-Code • RSS-Feed • Seitenbeginn