Homepage of Boris Haase




Radio Computing • Internet and Co • Programming with Stair • Sorting and Searching  (Previous | Next)



Radio Computing

Radio Computing

How can a memory cell communicate with as many other ones by radio chips at different frequencies in order to support parallel computing? How can in this way sorting of n values be improved from O(n log n) to O(1) and thus the indexing of tables in databases become obsolete?

If each radio chip transmits (simultaneously) at the frequency that corresponds to the value, transformed into the smallest positive natural interval valid for all values, of the associated memory cell, then the counterpart stations receive these new values sorted in O(1) and they can output them in O(1), if they are hierarchically organised as a binary tree, while first the 0-node and then the 1-node sends to its parent node.

If the parent node is still not taken, it stores the value of the 0-node. For each free further parent node, the procedure is the same and the 1-node is pulled behind. This is altogether possible in O(log n), thus enabling an output of all nodes by traversing the resulting binary tree in O(n). Equal values are first made different by appending a sequence number in O(n).

It is clear that the radio distances depend only on the size of the radio chips and that the radio must not be disturbed from the outside. Here weak (if need be shielded) signals and a predetermined frequency range are advisable. Possibly, first an implementation in datacentres is provided, as long as the radio chips are still relatively large, but this is for example not a big problem because of the increasing cloud computing.

For fewer frequencies than values to be transmitted, use FSO or microwaves, or double the number of transmission runs for each additional bit. If the frequency values are smaller than the values to be transmitted, so another transmission run for the subsequent sorting is necessary, for every transcending by a further frequency range. If applicable, for additionally occurring values, overflow areas are advisable (e.g. for table queries).

If one arranges the radio chips in a straight line, and puts in each case two of these lines crosswise one above the other, they can, if they are confronted with, send without intersection, and one gets along with one or few frequencies. Thus, k + 1 tables can be joined in a query in O(1) instead of O(n logk n). However, the necessity for serial processing sets limits to the parallel (radio) computing.

The radio technology can also be used to implement parallel transmission of parallel adders or other (linear) arithmetic operations (e.g. comparisons). In conjunction with networks and fast data transmission (e.g. DSL), it can be parallel calculated in combination (e.g. to solve (linear) optimisation problems in linear time). Also associative problems can be parallel solved (better than in the brain).

© 2011 by Boris Haase


Valid XHTML 1.0 • disclaimer • mail@boris-haase.de • pdf-version • bibliography • subjects • definitions • statistics • php-code • rss-feed • top

Homepage von Boris Haase




Funkrechnen • Internet und Co • Programmieren mit Stair • Theoretische Informatik  (Vorherige | Nächste)



Funkrechnen

Funkrechnen

Wie kann eine Speicherzelle mit möglichst vielen anderen durch Funkbausteine auf unterschiedlichen Frequenzen kommunizieren, um paralleles Rechnen zu unterstützen? Wie kann dadurch Sortieren von \(n\) Werten in \(\mathcal{O}(n \, \log \, n)\) auf \(\mathcal{O}(1)\) verbessert und damit die Indizierung von Tabellen in Datenbanken überflüssig werden?

Sendet jeder Funkbaustein (gleichzeitig) auf der Frequenz, die einem Wert der zugehörigen Speicherzelle entspricht, der in das kleinste positive natürliche und für alle Werte gültige Intervall transformiert wurde, dann empfangen die Gegenstellen diese neuen Werte in \(\mathcal{O}(1)\) sortiert und können sie in \(\mathcal{O}(n)\) ausgeben. Dies erfordert eine hierarchische Organisation als Binärbaum. Hierbei sendet erst der 0-Knoten und dann der 1-Knoten an den übergeordneten Knoten.

Ist der übergeordnete Knoten noch nicht besetzt, speichert er den Wert des 0-Knotens. Für jeden weiteren freien übergeordneten Knoten wird entsprechend verfahren und der 1-Knoten nachgezogen. Dies kann in insgesamt \(\mathcal{O}(\log \, n)\) geschehen und ermöglicht damit eine Ausgabe aller Knoten durch Traversieren des so entstandenen Binärbaums in \(\mathcal{O}(n)\). Das Anhängen einer Reihenfolgezahl in \(\mathcal{O}(n)\) macht gleiche Werte zuerst verschieden.

Es ist klar, dass die Funkstrecken nur von der Größe der Funkbausteine abhängen und der Funk von außen nicht gestört werden darf. Hier bieten sich schwache (ggf. abgeschirmte) Signale und ein vorgegebener Frequenzbereich an. Evtl. ist erst eine Realisierung in Rechenzentren vorzusehen, solange die Funkbausteine noch relativ groß sind. Da z. B. Cloud Computing zunimmt, stellt dies aber kein großes Problem dar.

Bei weniger Frequenzen als zu übertragenden Werten nutzen wir (optischen) Richtfunk oder verdoppeln die Anzahl der Sendedurchläufe für jedes weitere Bit. Sind die Frequenzwerte kleiner als die zu übertragenden Werte, so ist für jede Übersteigung um einen weiteren Frequenzbereich ein weiterer Sendedurchlauf für das Nachsortieren erforderlich. Ggf. sind für zusätzlich auftretende Werte Überlaufbereiche sinnvoll - etwa für Tabellenabfragen.

Ordnen wir die Funkbausteine in einer geraden Linie an und legen jeweils zwei dieser Linien kreuzweise übereinander, so können sie ohne Überschneidung senden, wenn sie gegenüberliegend befestigt werden. Dann kommen wir mit einer oder wenigen Frequenzen aus. In einer Abfrage lassen sich so \(k + 1\) Tabellen in \(\mathcal{O}(1)\) statt in \(\mathcal{O}(n \, \log_k \, n)\) verknüpfen. Allerdings setzt die Notwendigkeit einer seriellen Abarbeitung dem parallelen (Funk-) Rechnen Grenzen.

Die Funktechnik kann auch benutzt werden, um paralleles Senden an parallele Addierwerke zu realisieren oder andere (lineare) Rechenoperationen wie etwa Vergleiche umzusetzen. Im Verbund lässt sich in Verbindung mit Netzwerken und schneller Datenübertragung (z. B. DSL) parallel rechnen - etwa um (lineare) Optimierungsaufgaben in linearer Zeit zu lösen. Auch assoziative Probleme lassen sich so parallel lösen - evtl. besser als im Gehirn.

© 2011-2019 by Boris Haase


Valid XHTML 1.0 • Datenschutz • Haftungsausschluss • PDF-Version • Literatur • Schlagwörter • Definitionen • Statistik • PHP-Code • RSS-Feed • MWiki • Seitenbeginn